Ohio Boating

Requirements

 ​Great Lakes

       Boat Works 

Marine & Boating Supplies


Ohio Boating Requirements

For a complete listing of Ohio Boating Laws and Rules please go to http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov/

Mandatory boater education is required for any person born on or after January 1, 1982, who operates a powerboat with greater than 10 horsepower.

Note: Ohio's Mandatory Education Law does not change the operator age limits for youth.

Note: The situations listed below are based on the conditions of the Ohio Mandatory Education Law.

Personal Watercraft (PWC)
* Individuals who are 16 years of age or older may legally operate (unsupervised).
* Individuals 12-15 years of age may operate IF a supervising person is aboard.
* Individuals under 12 years of age may not operate at all.

Powercraft with greater than 10hp motor (excluding PWC's)
* Individuals 12 years of age or older may legally operate (unsupervised).
* Individuals under 12 years of age may operate IF a supervising person is aboard.

Powercraft with less that 10hp motor (excluding PWC's)
* Individuals that are 12 years of age or older may legally operate.
* Individuals under 12 years of age may operate if the operator is under the direct supervision of a supervising person (the supervising person is not required to be on board).

Note: A supervising person is defined as an adult person who is 18 years of age or older and provides direct visual and audible supervision.
 
* A supervising person must meet the mandatory education  requirements.